SonA DC’s Sports Awards – the Celebration of Sport

Stratford-on-Avon District Celebration of Sport 2013

Stratford-on-Avon District Council will be hosting a special Celebration of Sport evening in recognition of the wonderful year of sport that both Stratford and the UK as whole has experienced in 2012.

The 2013 event sponsored by NFU Mutual, Rybrook Stratford Mini and Everyone Active will be held on Friday 25th January at the Stratford Manor Hotel, Stratford upon Avon. The event will celebrate the sporting achievements of clubs, schools and individuals across the District as well as recognising the wonderful contributions made from so many volunteers and parents who work tirelessly behind the scenes.

David Moorcroft OBE and Andrew Pozzi
Sports Awards winner

Following on from the great success of last year, it is hoped that the 2013 celebration of sport will showcase a remarkable year of sport in the Stratford District including not only the Olympic and Paralympic Games with our successful athletes and volunteer Gamesmakers, but also the Olympic Torch Relay, Opening Ceremony events and other local events that took place across the district.


Senior Team of the Year:

Wellesbourne Ladies Rugby Team

Stratford Athletic Club Triathlon Team

Stratford on Avon Boat Club Men’s Team

Stratford Special Football Team

Captain/cox: Jenny Kneeland; Peter Molson; Simon Picken; Dr Ben Twiney; Charlie Harrison and Ben Gittus-Smith – for their wins at Henley Royal Regatta, Peterborough Regatta, Stourport Regatta, Ross Regatta, Worcester Small Boats Head and Stourport Small Boats Head (see Herald 27 December p31)

Posted in News.