2022 President’s Sculls Trophies Awarded!

… and finally! Stratford upon Avon Boat Club finally awarded The President’s Sculls 2022 trophies for the best sculler in the men’s and adaptive category this last month, The race off for the award for the best sculler in the Club’s junior squad is still to be completed

The original trophy was initially presented by Ian Cartwright, the then Captain, to Derek Eardley in 2004 during his tenure as President of Stratford Boat Club to mark his many years of service to the Club and was to be raced for annually in coxed fours

Over the years, the competition faded from the annual calendar and was reinstated comparatively recently as an annual sculling competition in four categories – women, men, juniors and adaptive

Paul Stanton, Stratford upon Avon Boat Club President commented, “We hope that the President’s Sculls award will inspire all members to continue with sculling at a high level and further contribute to all sections of the Club mixing and communicating with each other”

The award for the men’s trophy went to Jake Blatcher who dominated the men’s races and was awarded by Dr Persephone Wynn, Programme Manager for the Level 3 Senior Club Coaching Award and Level 2 Strength & Conditioning programme at British Rowing. The awards for the adaptive squad went to Gillian Middleton and Rona Fitzpatrick for the best pair; Rob Pedley for the most improved sculler in a single and to Isaac Courtland for the most promising sculler in a single

For media coverage, see Stratford Herald page forty three and Stratford Observer online https://www.stratfordobserver.co.uk/sport/rowing-boat-club-awards-presidents-sculls-trophies

Posted in News and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .